2020 ACOSA Award Recipients

We are pleased to announce our 2020 ACOSA Awards recipients!

The awardees represent meritorious contributions to macro practice, including researchers & practitioners, across various settings and career stages.

Many thanks to the awards committee, including our committee co-chairs Samantha Teixeira, Amy Krings, and Cheryl Hyde!

Career Achievement Award

This award honors the lifetime contribution of a person in the field.



Recipient: Lorraine M. Gutiérrez, University of Michigan Associate Dean for Educational Programs, Professor of Social Work Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Psychology

Nominator: Tracy Soska

Dr. Lorraine Gutiérrez demonstrates a lifetime commitment to and impact on macro social work with communities and organizations. She is a leader in scholarship on groupwork, empowerment, multicultural practice, and research for community change that has advanced these areas and enriched social work education and practice. She exemplifies an academic life that connects her teaching and research with her service that has enhanced her school, campus, community, and profession. Hers is a career worthy of ACOSA's recognition.

Mid-Career Achievement Award

The Mid-Career Achievement Award honors the meritorious service and scholarship contributions of a mid-career person in the field.



Recipient: Melinda Lewis, University of Kansas Associate Professor of the Practice

Nominator: Deborah Adams

Ms. Lewis is dedicated to promoting macro-level practice in social work across a range of approaches and institutions. These approaches include serving as a Professor of Practice, Associate Director of a center dedicated to building agency-level capacity, and co-author of numerous pieces of translational scholarship, including four books. Ms. Lewis is an exceptional colleague who has established herself locally and nationally as a champion for macro-level social work practice.

Emerging Scholar Award

This award honors a recent Ph.D. (pre-tenure) who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field.



Recipient: Mary Ellen Brown, Arizona State University Assistant Professor

Nominator: Mark Homan

The focus of Dr. Brown's scholarship is grounded in community-based participatory research (CBPR) and implementation science. This involves the investigation of community-level interventions co-created in partnership with community members, especially with regard to strengthening resiliency and positive health outcomes for Indigenous, Latinx, and Black communities. Conveying the importance, indeed the essentialness, of meaningful community participation is at the forefront of her scholarship. Not only does she examine the outcomes of community research in action, she also studies the process of community participation in research, and has published several frameworks providing the field with new insight into approaches to meaningful community engagement for practitioners and scholars.

2020 ACOSA Award Recipients

Doctoral Student Award

This award honors a current PhD student who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field.



Recipient: Catalina Tang Yan, Boston University

Nominator: Linda Sprague Martinez

Ms. Yan is a community scholar, who employs participatory methods to advance justice. She has directed youth-led participatory action research in the US as well as in the Dominican Republic. This work has result in broad dissemination across multiple platforms including: media engagements, reports to policy makers, book chapters, scholarly publication and conference publications. Her scholarship is well aligned with the mission of ACOSA and her scholarly potential is outstanding.

Outstanding Practitioner Award

This award honors the significant contribution to a community of a BSW or MSW level macro practitioner. We had so many standout practitioners nominated this year that we selected **two awardees!**



Recipient: Monica Villarreal, Flint, MI
Community Organizer, Michigan United
Mission Developer, Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church

Nominator: Anna Maria Santiago

Ms. Villarreal's work, particularly around the issues of access to clean and safe water as well as in reducing social and economic inequalities experienced by vulnerable populations and communities, has contributed to a greater understanding of these human rights issues and identified better models of community practice to address them.



Recipient: Stacey Shinn, Reno, NVNevada State Director, State Innovation Exchange

Nominator: Jennifer Willett

Ms. Shinn has been championing social work causes in Nevada as a lobbyist, policy director, political consultant, volunteer, and mentor. Stacey is currently the Nevada State Director of the State Innovation Exchange (SiX), a national organization that aims to pursue and advance a unified progressive vision at the state-level. In this role, she works with legislators and candidates to help them frame and advance their progressive causes.

Outstanding Student Award

This award recognizes the contribution of a BSW or MSW student who has been involved in community or organizational practice currently or in the past.



Recipient: Jaycee Brown, University of Mississippi

Nominator: NaYoun Lee

Ms. Brown is dedicated to the causes that advance community wellbeing and social justice. She has actively participated in various voter mobilization efforts in Mississippi and states that her goals are to increase political literacy and voter turnout among young adults, especially from Black and Brown communities and under-resourced rural areas. Among many things, she distributed food to families in Marshall County, volunteered with MS Votes to inform students on the voter registration process and is involved with the Office of Community Engagement to assist in campus, community and state-wide efforts to promote the rights of every one to participate in voter democracy.

2020 ACOSA Award Recipients

The Marie O. Weil Outstanding Scholarship Award

This award recognizes outstanding scholarship published in the *Journal of Community Practice* during the previous volume year. Authors are selected for their contribution to the field, scholarly approach, and/or promotion of macro practice values. Taylor and Francis, the journal publisher, co-sponsors this award.

The best article in the *Journal of Community Practice* for Volume 27 (2019) was awarded to Tania Schusler, Amy Krings, and Melissa Hernández for their meritorious contribution:

Schusler, T., Krings, A., & Hernández, M. (2019) Integrating youth participation and ecosocial work: New possibilities to advance environmental and social justice. *Journal of Community Practice*, 27(3-4), 460-475. https://doi.org/10.1080/10705422.2019.1657537