Association for Community Organization & Social Administration

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Facebook Link LinkedIn Link Twitter Link You Tube Link

Emerging Scholar Award

The Emerging Scholar Award honors a recent Ph.D. (pre-tenure) who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field.


2017: Jaime M. Booth, University of Pittsburgh

Nominator:  John Wallace, University of Pittsburgh

Nomination Comments:

Dr. Booth’s scholarship focuses on the understudied and important area of neighborhood level factors in health outcomes and interventions to address health disparities among minority, particularly, Latino, populations. Dr. Booth’s commitment to her rigorous training to become an independent scientist is further evidenced by her recent K01 award, which are highly competitive and difficult to obtain.  She plans to use the funding from this award to further her innovative scholarship in the understudied area of neighborhood influences on adolescent substance use. She is also an amazingly productive assistant professor.  She has published 20 peer-reviewed publications in high impact journals presented at national and international conferences, maintained a growing record of external funding, and still managed to teach and provide highly relevant service to her school and community.


2016: Samantha Teixeira, Boston College School of Social Work


Nominator:  Tracy Soska, University of Pittsburgh (with John Wallace, Faculty mentor)

Comment from nomination letter:

Samantha Teixeira, PhD, is an Assistant Professor at the Boston College School of Social Work. She has demonstrated strong community practice social work, conducted solid community-based and participatory research work, advance Geographic Information Systems work in social work community practice, and evidenced engaging scholarship in the community practice field that has already commanded attention.


2015: Dr. Terri Friedline (Nominator - Dr. Edward Scanlon, University of Kansas)

Dr. Terri Friedline is an Assistant Professor at the University of Kansas, School of Social Welfare. Her work has focused on financial inclusion, asset building and educational attainment. More broadly she is interested in the intersection of public policy and the well-being of youth.

Dr. Friedline is distinguishing herself in the social work profession as a highly motivated, productive, and thoughtful scholar. Much of her work has focused on conducting secondary data analysis to explore basic research questions of interest to the field of asset-building. She has produced a total of 27 peer review publications, and has five currently under review.

She takes community practice seriously, using her research and analytic skills to contribute to the national dialogue on asset-building and public policy. Because of this commitment to financial inclusion and her diverse skills, AEDI, a research office at the University of Kansas, has appointed her as the Faculty Director of their Financial Inclusion project. She has also actively sought and received external grant funding for her work, with several grant proposals currently under review.

2014: Amy Krings & Dr. Laurie Walker

2013: Richard Smith, Ph.D. (Nominator - Dr. Julian Chow, University of California, Berkeley).









Dr. Richard Smith is an Assistant Professor at the School of Social Work, Wayne State University. Among other accomplishments, Dr. Smith he has distinguished himself as an expert for the methodological expertise needed to understand neighborhood change and place-based initiatives through in-depth knowledge of GIS and other related tools used in community development work; and 2) this expertise is demonstrated in an emerging publication, presentation and grant writing track record.

Dr. Smith is committed to scholarship and has successfully presented his work at national and international conferences. This summer, he presented work with Ecocity Builders at the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development and helped launch the International Ecocity Framework & Standards at the 2011 Ecocity Summit in Montreal. He has presented work at the Society for Social Work Research for the last five years. Also, he has presented at the International Consortium for Social Development, the American Sociological Association, the Association for Public Policy and Management and the Council for Social Work Education.

2012: Erick Guerrero, Ph.D. (University of Southern California)










Dr. Guerrero was nominated by Dr. Haluk Soyday for the 2012 Emerging Scholars award.  Dr. Guerrero has outstanding productivity in organizational research as a junior faculty member, with ten published articles in high-ranking peer-reviewed journals in the area of organizational cultural competence and racial/ethnic service disparities.  His research and practice experience has enabled him to receive federal funding to study organizational change and the process of care in community-based behavioral health.  He has presented at national and international conferences on administration, management, and organizational research.  Dr. Jeanne Marsh, in her letter of support, wrote, "There is perhaps no other scholar in our field - emerging or established - whose work is making such an important contribution to improving access and effectiveness of social services for Latinos in the US."

2011: David Androff, Ph.D. (School of Social Work, Arizona State University)

Dr. David Androff










Dr. Androff's dissertation research has been a springboard for his meritorious scholarship. He documented the impact of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) in the community of Greensboro, North Carolina. Dr. Androff's dissertation research is groundbreaking and cutting-edge, in part, because he was the first scholar to examine the use of TRC in the United States. It is also meritorious because he is the first social work scholar to connect TRC research to the promotion of social justice and healing within a social work framework. He has published 12 articles on this topic in his short three years as an assistant professor. Dr. Androff's dissertation research has resulted in an emerging international reputation and opportunities to disseminate his work across the globe. He has presented his work at conferences in Mexico, Hong Kong and Bangladesh.

2008: Mary Ohmer, Ph.D.

2006: Philip Young P, Hong

2005: Stephanie Boddie

2003: Robert Fischer, Emily Spence-Diehl

2001: Ann Rosegrant Alvarez

2000: Deb Page-Adams, Louise Simmons

1999: Julian Chow

1998: Susan Murty