Association for Community Organization & Social Administration

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Facebook Link LinkedIn Link Twitter Link You Tube Link

Career Achievement

The Career Achievement Award honors the lifetime contribution of a person in the field.


2018: Mark Homan, Retired

Nominators:  Darlyne Bailey (Bryn Mawr), Terry Mizrahi (Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College), and Tracy Soska (University of Pittsburgh)


2017: Tracy Michael Soska, University of Pittsburgh

Nominators:  Terri Mizrahi (Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College), Darlyne Bailey (Bryn Mawr), Mark Homan (retired)

Nomination Comments:

In terms of his commitment and determination as well as his successes in promoting community and macro social work at his university, Tracy is at the highest rung of the combined service and leadership ladder.  Tracy lead a successful effort with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development to include social work among the professions eligible for its Community Development graduate fellowships and university-community partnerships program funding.  In terms of international work, Tracy has assumed leadership for collaboration with European partners through University of Pittsburgh’s University Center for International Studies creating several EU-US conferences on social policy and community development.

In terms of contributions to social work education, Tracy is the author with others of the Community Practice Competencies, an Encyclopedia of Social Work contributor in the area of housing and homelessness, and a continuing presence in other scholarly and applied research pursuits including partnering with Jack Rothman on a study that led to the founding of the Special Commission to Advance Macro Practice in Social Work. Of particular magnitude is Tracy’s work in partnership with others to create macro practice competencies.  These competencies been published in the Encyclopedia of Social Work and accepted by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).  Because of the momentum and credibility built by this work, CSWE has now asked the Special Commission to Advance Macro Practice in Social Work (Special Commission) to prepare a Curriculum Guide to assist programs in meeting accreditation standards for macro practice content.

2016: Steve Burghardt, Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College, CUNY


Nominators:  Tracy Soska, Mark Homan, and Terri Mizrahi

Comment from nomination letter:

A professor of Community Organization and Planning since 1973 at the Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College, Steve has been one of the premier community practice educators in our profession whose work has had seminal influence on multiple generations of students and practitioners. Steve is an influential author who has published nine books and is at work on his tenth and eleventh. Steve’s first significant contribution to the field was his now classic “The Other Side of Organizing,” written in 1982, that emphasized the personal struggles and strategic dilemmas of the progressive organizer in an era of conservatism. Steve also has written theoretical works on political economy and its impact on social work.  His most noted work in this area, co-authored with Michael Fabricant, was “The Welfare State Crisis and the Transformation of Social Work,” which focused on the crisis in public expenditure and the ensuing alteration of the labor process of social work practice itself. Their work was internationally recognized.

Read Steve’s Acceptance Remarks on his 2016 Career Achievement Award


2015: John Tropman

2014: Alice Butterfield

2013: Claudia Coulton

2012: Dorothy "Dee" Gamble

2011: Lee H. Staples

2006: Irving Spergel, Michael Sherraden

2005: Michael Austin, Jim Cunningham

2004: James Midgley, Terry Mizahi

2003: Rino Patti

2002: Roslyn Chernesky, Earl Durham

2001: Armand A. Lauffer, Ralph M. Framer

2000: Stanley Wenocur

1999: Tim Sampson

1998: Roger Lohmann, Marie Weil

1997:  Rosemary Sarri, George Eberle

1996: Myron Weiner, Richard Cloward

1995: Esther Wattenberg

1994: Felice Perlmutter, Audrey Faulkner

1993: Simon Slavin, George Brager

1992: David Austin, Jack Rothman