Association for Community Organization & Social Administration

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Facebook Link LinkedIn Link Twitter Link You Tube Link

2018 ACOSA Awards

ACOSA is pleased to present its 2018 Award winners. All award winners will be recognized at the ACOSA Member-ship Meeting and Awards Reception on Saturday, Novem-ber 10, 2018 from 7-10 PM at the Dolphin, Walt Disney World Resort, Asia 4, Lobby/Third Level. Please join us in congratulating our 2018 Awardees!

Career Achievement Award: Mark Homan, Retired (Nominators: Darlyne Bailey, Bryn Mawr, Terry Mizrahi, Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College, and Tracy Soska, University of Pittsburgh)


Outstanding Practitioner Award: Lora D. Hicks McDonald, Executive Director, Metro Organization for Racial and Economic Equity MORE, Kansas City, MO (Nominator: Peter Kindle, University of South Dakota)


Emerging Scholar Award: Megan Paceley, Assistant Professor, University of Kansas (Nominator: Deborah Adams, University of Kansas, and Michelle Mohr Carney, University of Kansas)


Outstanding Student Award: Danny Vang, BSW student, San Francisco State University (Nominator: Jocelyn Clare Hermoso, San Francisco State University, and Rita Takahashi, San Francisco State University)


Marie Weil Award (Best Article in JCP Volume 25)

Formal and Informal Social Organization: Do Geography, Structural Inequality, and Other Forms of Social Organization Matter? Journal of Community Practice, 25(2), 172-189. DOI: 10.1080/10705422.2017.1307797

Authors: Megan E. Gilster, University of Iowa, and Cristian L. Meier, Utah State University


Many thanks to the 2018 Awards Committee members for their hard work!

The committee members this year are: Julie Birkenmaier (Chair), Jamie Booth, Joel Izlar, John Mathias, Stephen Stoeffler, Samantha Teixeira, John Tropman, Laurie Walker, and Rachel West.