Association for Community Organization & Social Administration

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Facebook Link LinkedIn Link Twitter Link You Tube Link

2017 ACOSA Awards

ACOSA is pleased to present its 2017 Award winners. All award winners will be recognized at the ACOSA Membership Meeting and Awards Reception on Saturday, October 21, 2017 from 6:30 - 8:00 PM at the Sheraton Dallas Hotel, Dallas Ballroom D3-Conference Center.  Congratulations to our 2017 Awardees!


Career Achievement: Tracy Michael Soska, University of Pittsburgh (Nominators: Terri Mizrahi, Hunter College; Darlyne Bailey, Bryn Mawr; Mark Homan, retired)

Doctoral Student Award: Joel Izlar, University of Georgia (Nominator: Rebecca Matthew, University of Georgia)

Outstanding Student Award (2 Winners!): Emma Martinez, University of Portland (Nominator: Alice Gates, University of Portland) & Wayne State University School of Social Work Association of Black Social Workers (ABSW) (Nominators: Takisha LaShore and Tamarie Willis, Wayne State University)

Emerging Scholar: Jaime M. Booth, University of Pittsburgh (Nominator: John Wallace, University of Pittsburgh)

Outstanding Practitioner: Charles Edward Lewis, Jr., Development Services Group (Nominator: Terry Mizrahi, Hunter College)

Marie O. Weil Award: Akilah Dulin Keita, Brown University; Lonnie Hannon, Tuskegee University; David Buys, Mississippi State University; Krista Casazza, University of Alabama at Birmingham; Olivio Clay, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Article: Dulin Keita, A., Hannon, L., Buys, D., Casazza, K., & Clay, O. (2016). Surrounding community residents’ expectations of HOPE VI for their community, health and physical activity. Journal of Community Practice, 24(1), 18-37. doi:10.1080/10705422.2015.1129005


Many thanks to the 2017 Awards Committee members for their hard work!

Julie Birkenmaier (Chair), Stephen Burghardt, Ram Cnaan, Amy Krings, John Mathias, Mary Ohlmer, Jason Ostrander, Stephen Stoeffler, Samantha Teixeira, John Tropman, Laurie Walker, and Rachel West.